Restoring the Courthouse – Long May She Stand
Construction began in 1875 and it was completed in 1876; Now she is old and worn and in need of love and care. One can still see her stately elegance where she has stood for many years. Residents and interested folks have recognized this need and formed an organization called The Friends of the Belmont Courthouse. Their goals are to restore and save this historic gem by giving her a facelift and much needed structural repairs.
Windows were broken and removed leaving the interior exposed to the harsh elements.
The jail cells were torn out and used in Gabbs, Nevada only to be returned in 1991 and placed outside the brick jail structure. Over time a deteriorating roof caused water leakage and structural damage. Most of the interior contents or architectural elements have disappeared including furniture, heating stoves, hardware, ornate wood trim, flooring, and the like.
On June 13, 1972, the town of Belmont was placed on the National Register of Historical Places.
The courthouse was recognized as a part of this historic district. The two story red brick building was transferred to the Nevada Division of State Parks, State of Nevada on August 20, 1974. A preservation effort was undertaken in 1975 to restore and stabilize the courthouse. At that time a metal roof was replaced, stairs were braced, exterior wood was painted, faulty and weak structural systems were corrected and the cupola was restored. Plastic sheeting was installed on all windows as protection from inclement weather. A seismic retrofit was completed in 2007. Because of cuts to the state budget, the Nevada State Legislature transferred the building back to Nye County in 2011, and the county supported the bill that enabled the transfer. Nye County would be able to use volunteer help to rehabilitate the courthouse, where the Park Service could not. Late in 2011, the roof was temporarily sealed in preparation for winter.